Sepahan crowned Iran’s champion
Sepahan players and coaching team celebrate their IPL championship at Isfahan’s Fouladshahr Stadium on May 15.
Sepahan has won its second successive Iran Premier League (IPL) championship after a draw against Persepolis in the 33rd week of the league.


The Isfahani club was held to a 0-0 draw at Fouladshahr Stadium on Sunday, which extended its unassailable lead on top of the table with 66 points and one week to go.

Sepahan had previously won the title two times in 2002-2003 and 2009-2010 seasons. Iranian capital-based clubs Persepolis and Esteqlal each have won the IPL title two times.

Also on Sunday, Teraktorsazi came from behind to end 2-2 against Saipa, Foulad pummeled Pas 5-2, and Mes blanked Shahin with three goals.

In the other matches, Esteqlal beat Malavan 2-0, Zob Ahan defeated Naft Tehran 2-1, Peykan edged past Rah Ahan 1-0, and Saba and Naft Abadan played out a goalless draw.

Steel Azin suffered a 6-1 defeat against Shahrdari, and was relegated from the IPL.

Esteqlal stands at the second place of the IPL standings with 62 points, and Zob Ahan is third with 60 points, but the results of the next week’s games determines which one will clinch the season in the second place.

Persepolis is now fourth with 55 points, followed by Teraktorsazi on 54.


کلیدواژه ها :

این خبر را به اشتراک بگذارید :